I’ve gotten hooked on Pinterest lately. I use it as a mobile “favorites”. I don’t like having to transfer favorites from computer to computer, and I like the visual theme. I am also distracted by Pinterest, a lot. Yesterday, in a fit of sullen OCD, I realized that my “recipes I’ve tried” board was much smaller than the “recipes to try” section. So I began to review and sort them.

After about 15 minutes of distraction, I realized that I was critiquing many of the recipes. “I would use almonds instead of walnuts.” “That needs cumin!” “There has to be a faster way to make that.” I should be making things, then I could post notes to my Pinterests!

I jumped up, caught my laptop as it fell, and ran to the kitchen. I pulled out my ingredients and…didn’t have everything I needed. So I made a grocery list and…decided that it was too cold and I was too lazy to go out.

Oh, but my brain had energy. I started thinking about my favorite recipes. Most of them are borrowed, adaptations of recipes, or completely invented. I wondered whether there were blogs about adapting recipes, reviewing other recipes, and sharing new ones. If they didn’t already exist, I could create a groundbreaking new blog!

Except, there are tons of blogs. Many of them do all of that.

Oh! The Bike Trip! Kirby (my husband) and I are planning a year-long bike trip in Europe. In all of our research, the one question we keep asking veteran cyclists is, “What did you eat?”. Some responses were more detailed than others. Most fall into two categories: “oh, we just ate out” or “one of us cooks well, so we just cook with whatever is around”.

I want more. I want to know that you ate whole-wheat pasta with fresh tomatoes and peas, with Peppero on the side. I want to know that you ate nothing but leftover pizza for three days. I want to look at your beautiful morning oatmeal.

I enjoy taking pictures of food.
If my phone had enough space, I would photograph everything I ate.

So I’m going to do that, for a year.

Until then, I will practice.